Oaxaca

Last Sunday, I returned from one of the best trips of my life: a week of immersion in the Spanish language spent in Oaxaca, Mexico with my class. Normally, when I tell people this, they react with absolute shock and confusion– some school took a bunch of teenagers to Mexico? Who does that?

Let it be known to the world that no, in fact, I did not sit around on a beach all day. We had school (if you count two hours of Spanish class in the morning school), so it’s not like this was some kind of opportunity to slack off, and in the afternoons, we set off on tours of museums, ancient archaeological sites, and marketplaces crowded with locals and tourists alike. Our meals and any extra time on our hands we spent with our host families.

Oaxaca is gorgeous. I can’t say that enough. The architecture is beautiful and a single building is about a thousand times more colorful than the entirety of Chicago. Everyone was really nice, too. Our Spanish was only a little step up from rudimentary (or mine was, at least), but people took it in their stride, waiting patiently as I struggled to find the right words to say something.

I don’t want to waste your time going on and on about the things I learned, the things I saw– it could take several days to read it all. But if there’s one thing I could say to wrap it all up, it would be that this was an experience I’ll never forget.

I’m taking the next couple of weeks off for spring break, so I won’t be posting for a while. Let’s hope that April’s better to us than March: we’ve still got snow here, after all.

Leave a Reply

