The 777 Writing Challenge

I’ve been stuck with an awful cold for the past couple of days, so I’m not going to try and write an eloquent, beautiful post today for fear of accidentally making absolutely no sense (which has happened on occasion). Instead, I’m going to do a tag I saw the other day on The Librarian Files (for your information, I was not tagged, I’m just lazy and sick and unable to write anything decent today, which is why I’m doing this tag. Plus, it looked like fun.) Here are the rules:

The 777 challenge requires you go to Page 7 of your work-in-progress (whether writing or editing), scroll down to Line 7 and share the next 7 lines in a blog post. Once you have done this, you can tag 7 other bloggers to do the same with their work-in-progress.

Here’s my excerpt, from the unnamed work-in-progress I’m about three-quarters of the way through drafting right now:

“Lucky for me, I won’t end up having to fight anyone anytime soon. I’ve got plenty of time.”

“The time may come sooner than you expect.”

“Well, I’m glad to see you so positive about things.”

“There’s no need to be so sarcastic, Siri. I’m being realistic. It’d be better for you to know it and not need it than to have your life depend on it and not know a single thing.”

Siri opened her mouth to retort, but the sound of clicking heels echoed down the passage, and she closed it abruptly.

The footsteps stopped, then started again, this time closer than before.

“Out of the hallway,” Katia hissed. She flung open the barred door of Siri’s cell and shoved her inside. Siri heard the turn of a key, and then the sound of light feet on the floor, growing distant as her sister darted away.

And now for my seven tag-ees:

Rohan at Writing Stories Rocks

Victoria at Stori Tori’s Blog

Rachel at Stained Glass Windows

Rae at What Happened to the Wallflower?

Red at Awkwardly Artistic

Katherine at Spiral-Bound

And (drum roll please) . . .

YOU!

Hopefully I’ll be not-as-sick and able to speak in comprehensible sentences pretty soon, since I’m planning a longer and more time-consuming post for Friday as a little sign-off before I take a week or so long spring break from blogging. If I’m still watching Netflix in a haze of sickness on my bed, though, it’s probably going to be a little simpler, but regardless, I’ll see you on Friday.

Leave a Reply

