My Top 5 Writing Tools

I only have time for a quick post, so today, I’ll be sharing a list of my favorite writing tools.

Google Drive

I used to write with Microsoft, and although Microsoft’s more visually appealing, I find that Google Drive is way easier to use. It saves automatically and it’s easily accessible from anywhere as long as you have access to internet. I especially like the comments feature, which I use all the time to make notes to myself as I write.

Writing Blogs

A couple weeks ago, I talked about my top 5 writing blogs. Usually, when I get stuck with my writing, I turn to that assortment of blogs to re-energize. I’ve learned a lot just from reading them on a regular basis, from how to get past writer’s block to how to clarify your theme to how exactly you get started in the publishing process.

Youtube

I can’t stand writing in silence, so most of the time, I use music to get me into the mood for whatever I’m writing. I found that Youtube is great for this— it’s completely free and there’s a huge variety of music for any taste.

Pinterest

I’m 99.9% sure that Pinterest is one of the main reasons I procrastinate so much, so I was absolutely thrilled when I realized that I could use it as a writing tool and consider it working to create mood boards and character boards and pretty much anything else I need inspiration for.

Paper and Pencil

Yup, you read that right. I may like to write on the computer, but paper and pencil will be vital to writing forever. Whether I’m working out a plot, a timeline, a character, whatever, being able to visually map out something helps me see it clearer, and in turn, write it more clearly. There’s something very satisfying about starting with a fresh sheet of notebook paper and drawing all over it with little bubbles and scrawled words and arrows pointing in every direction.

My Top 5 Writing Tools-- Olivia Simone

I hope you enjoyed today’s post, and I’ll see you on Friday.

Leave a Reply

