Quick Crochet Baskets

I’ve got another quick project for today: crocheted baskets. I’m hardly an expert when it comes to crochet (most of my projects are knitted or sewn for that reason), but even I found these baskets super easy to make. In the past, I’ve used them as weird little reusable gift bags: I lined them with tissue paper and filled them with an assortment of nail polish, mini bottles of hand lotion, chocolates, and all sorts of adorable little mini things (I can’t tell you how much I love the travel aisle of Walgreens). I’m planning to use my most recent one for storage– probably to corral the random objects that mysteriously collect on my bedside table. I added little crocheted handles to mine which although not mentioned in the pattern are easy enough to recreate.

basket1

Here’s the pattern:

Materials

  • bulky yarn (I used the heaviest I could find in my stash)
  • 6.50 mm crochet hook

Finished Dimensions

6″ tall by 6″ wide by 18″ diameter

Notes

This pattern is worked in double crochet unless noted otherwise.

Basket Pattern

  1. chain 8, connect ends
  2. chain 2
  3. 10 sts
  4. chain 2 and turn
  5. 20 sts (2 per hole)
  6. chain 2 and turn
  7. single crochet 20 sts (this forms the corner of the basket)
  8. chain 2 and turn
  9. 20 sts
  10. repeat steps 8 and 9 four times
  11. single crochet 20 sts (this forms the edge)

Quick Crochet Baskets-- Olivia Simone

It finally feels like spring here, and only a few little lumps of grayish snow currently decorate the streets and sidewalks, slowly melting away as the days pass by. Only two more weeks until spring break and endless hours to spend on Pinterest and (hopefully) writing. I hope that wherever you are, it’s warm and spring-like too.

One thought on “Quick Crochet Baskets

Leave a Reply

