Easy Knitted Bookmarks

I’ve been making a lot of cute little projects recently as a kind of treatment for my cabin fever, and as I was looking at the little stash I’ve collected, I realized, Hey, these would be really cool to share on my blog. The mind of a blogger works in strange ways.

Among my stash is a set of knit bookmarks made from a ball of tie-dyed yarn I found at the bottom of my yarn basket. One is in seed/moss stitch, one is done in a kind of lace stitch, and the last one has a cable running down the middle. All of them are easy, quick, and perfect to make as a last minute gift.

Easy Knitted Bookmarks-- Olivia Simone

Materials:

  • sport or lightweight worsted yarn
  • size 4 needles
  • cable needle (cn)
  • yarn needle

materials1 (1)

SEED STITCH BOOKMARK

Finished Dimensions:

1 1/2″ by 8 1/2″

Gauge:

25 stitches to 4″

Seed Stitch Pattern:

k1, *p1, k1*

Bookmark Pattern:

  • Cast on 9 stitches
  • Work in seed stitch pattern until bookmark reaches desired length
  • Bind off in stitch pattern
  • Weave in loose ends

seedstitch

LACE STITCH BOOKMARK

Finished Dimensions:

1 1/2″ by 8 1/2″

Gauge:

20 stitches to 4″

Lace Stitch Pattern:

Row 1: k1, *yo, k2tog*

Row 2: p2, *yo, p2tog*

Bookmark Pattern:

  • Cast on 8 stitches
  • Work in lace stitch until bookmark reaches desired length
  • Cast off in stitch pattern
  • Weave in loose ends

lacestitch

CABLED BOOKMARK

Finished Dimensions:

1 1/2″ by 8 1/2″

Gauge:

26 stitches to 4″

Cable Stitch Pattern:

Row 1: k4, p1, k4

Row 2: k2, p2, k1, p2, k2

Row 3: k2, slip 2 sts to cn, k3, k2 off cn, k2

Row 4: repeat row 2

Bookmark Pattern:

  • Cast on 9 stitches
  • Work in cable stitch pattern until bookmark reaches desired length
  • Bind off in stitch pattern
  • Weave in yarn ends

cablestitch

It’s finally started to get warmer here– I didn’t even have to wear a winter coat today! I’m really looking forward to being able to spend time outside without freezing to death, although the weather has brought me and Netflix very close. I hope wherever you are, it’s starting to get nicer out.

Keep watching for my next posts– I’ll see you on Tuesday.

5 thoughts on “Easy Knitted Bookmarks

Leave a Reply

