My Top 5 Writing Blogs

As is usual, I spent nearly all of this past weekend (including yesterday– slow clap for surprise snow days) in my bedroom with some quality internet time. Most of it was spent clicking refresh on Tumblr and Pinterest and catching up on shows on Netflix (all of which were highly rewarding), but I also spent some time surfing my favorite writing blogs, the list of which I’m going to share with you today.

write-to-done

5. Write to Done

From increasing productivity to creating a sustainable writing income, this site is filled with ‘unmissable articles on writing’, just like the site proclaims.

helping-writers-become-authors

4. Helping Writers Become Authors

Filled to the brim with articles specifically tailored to any question a writer might have, this is one of my favorite resources.

the write practice

3. The Write Practice

Lots of great broad-spectrum posts on topics from the tools needed to write a novel to why it’s dangerous to compare your work to others.

mythcreants

2. Mythcreants

Although aimed toward fantasy/sci-fi writers and roleplayers, this site holds gems of wisdom for all genres.

go teen writers

1. Go Teen Writers

This is my absolute favorite blog, and the first one I ever read on a regular basis. With three wonderful posters, every single post is well-crafted and really helpful.

Before I go, I just want to leave you with one other blog that I find absolutely indispensable at times when I’m in tears because my characters are being difficult and annoying and I just hate my novel so much I want to rip it to tiny pieces and light it on fire (not that that ever happens 😉 ). Drum roll please . . .

slushpile hell

SlushPile Hell

Sarcastic, witty, and never one to miss a chance to laugh at a painfully written query letter, this blog is a beautiful ray of sunlight in which to laugh at the horrible query letters people have actually submitted to this literary agency in complete seriousness. To compare its sarcastic-ness (is that even a word?) to peppers, if you can barely handle a jalapeno, you’re going to spontaneously combust if you even touch the habanero-y sarcastic-ness of this website.

My Top 5 Writing Blogs-- Olivia Simone

Anyway, I hope you find this list helpful, and I’d love to hear your thoughts on the different blogs featured here. See you on Friday!

Leave a Reply

