Using Music as a Writing Tool

Last week I posted about my Pinterest obsession and how I use it to my advantage as a writing tool. Today, I want to share with you how I use music, also an obsession of mine, as another writing tool.

I don’t know about you, but I like listening to music (especially on Youtube) while I write. It helps me get into the mood I need– for example, if I’m writing a quieter scene, I’ll listen to quiet, calm music, while if I’m writing a battle or fight scene (my current WIP is YA Fantasy), I listen to ‘epic gaming music’, which is exactly what it sounds like. There are plenty of great, if obscure, composers out there (two of my favorites are BrunuhVille and Adrian von Ziegler), and it’s not hard to find what you’re looking for.

But if you’re having a tough time getting started, there’s a website that might make it easier: SoundFuel. Aimed toward helping writers create playlists for their WIPs, it suggests music based on what category your WIP falls into. They don’t have a huge library, but it’s well-edited and diverse, and really helpful for points when you get stuck. I used it to make my first playlist (for my current WIP), which I posted below:

WIP-Siri Playlist

  1. Aeturnum by BrunuhVille
  2. Rise of Evil (Orchestral) by Two Steps from Hell
  3. Iron Mountains by Derek and Brandon Fiechter
  4. Lord of the Rings: Isengard Theme
  5. The Hobbit: “The World is Ahead” and “Over Hill” medley
  6. Brave: Noble Maiden Fair (A Mhaighdean Bhan Uasal)
  7. Battle Master by Matt Norman
  8. Part of the Pack by Adrian von Ziegler
  9. Rising Sun by BrunuhVille
  10. Invincible by Two Steps from Hell
  11. Conqueror of the Sky by Peter Crowley
  12. Home of Heroes by Adrian von Ziegler
  13. Queen of the Gaels by Adrian von Ziegler

Plus a couple of other pieces that don’t have a specified place in my WIP but I still absolutely love:

I don’t use this playlist on a regular basis, but when I’m stuck, I listen to it up until the point I stopped writing at. Other than that, I like to switch up my writing music, so if I find something I like a lot, I mark it to use later. I’ve got a pretty big stash built up by this point, so it may be time for me to stop searching for music, buckle down, and start writing.

Using Music as a Writing Tool-- Olivia Simone

What do you like to listen to while you write, if anything? Share in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

