Thoughts on the Golden Globes

I know I’m a bit late on this one (it’s a week ago already), but today I wanted to talk about the Golden Globe Awards. Here are my highlights and lowlights on my two new favorite movies at the Golden Globes this year:

the-imitation-game

The Imitation Game

Okay, seriously? Absolutely zero awards. Completely disappointing. This was definitely one of the best movies I’ve seen all year. I mean, Benedict Cumberbatch as a closeted gay genius and the machine he builds to break Enigma? Flawless. Plus, you’ve got Allen Leech (Tom Branson from Downton Abbey) playing a Soviet spy– now I can’t watch Downton Abbey without thinking he’s about to go pass off secret information to the Russians. Anyway, this movie deserved way more attention than it got. I’m expecting an Oscar for it in February.

the-theory-of-everything

The Theory of Everything

Brilliantly done. Eddie Redmayne, aside from being incredibly hot, is an incredible actor. His portrayal of Stephen Hawking’s descent into Lou Gehrig’s disease (ALS) was beautiful and heart-breaking. Redmayne definitely deserved the award he got (Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Drama), although I’m still a little annoyed that he beat out Benedict Cumberbatch for it.

On a side note: I just wanted to mention really quickly how happy I am about Joanne Froggatt as well. She’s a great actress, and judging from her acceptance speech, a great person too.

golden-globe

That’s all for today! I’ll be posting another knitting project on Sunday, but until then, enjoy the weekend and try to stay warm. 🙂

Leave a Reply

